Arrowdawn Gordonians v Meigle Cricket Club First XI on Sat 16 Aug 2014 at 1.00
Meigle Cricket Club Won Meigle are Champions

Match report MEIGLE WIN THE SPCU North East Championship 2014! For the sixth time since the Union started in 1929, Meigle CC won the title. 13 (long) years have passed since the last time but the hard work off the pitch and on paid off and victory was secured with a game to spare.

The game was always going to be a cracker, Arrowdawn Gordonians have several dangerous batsmen and some useful bowlers. Meigle skipper, Iain 'Persil' Stewart won the toss and elected to bowl first. He opened up but pulled a hamstring trying to bowl the final ball of the first over. He then bowled off two steps, it turned out later he didn't want anyone to 'waste an over' so manned up and bowled (a wide) and then a ball that should have been held at slip, before coming out of the attack. Youngster Alan Neave, recovering from tonsillitis, bowled well and was accompanied by Charles Clark. Neave bowled Barman for four with the score on 19 but a stand of 51 was built by the home side until Gilmour stumped the previous weeks double centurion, O'Dwyer, for 27. Aman Arora was in the runs but a confident appeal for a catch behind was turned down and he marched on to 47 before Jamie Mo held a catch at mid wicket (several chances and half chances had gone a begging) and the hosts where 103 for 3. A collapse ensued and they where 136 all out as Charles Clark took four, the limping skipper ran out the pro with a one handed pick up and throw and Matty Farmer also got a deserved wicket after bowling 'to well' for a couple of overs!
Denis was sent in to open but a ball popped a bit and he gloved a c&b to home captain Rahul Narula. Michael Turnbull came to the crease and scored 18 off 41 balls, which saw him have to fend off a tight spell from slow medium pacer Craig Petit, who put the ball in the right spot consistently. Turnbull was caught of the pro. Tom Duff played positively for 21 and got caught behind. Raify batted well and got given LBW, its one you have seen given and also not given. He is a tall guy with a big stride but it was a good appeal and was given and the big guy had to trudge back to the pivvy. Alan Neave was then run out without facing - but to be fair to Drummy, who was really showing his class, and class is the word, it did look a run but the ball just didn't run as far as he expected and the throw was a direct hit. This brought Aussie paceman Matty Farmer to the crease and Farmer crashed 22 not out to help Drummond 49 not out to seeing Meigle over the line. Peter's innings was a masterclass for any young batsman. He played the wicket and bowling on its merits and showed how much he wanted to bring the title back to his home club. The lads then headed back to the Kinloch Arms and where last heard of heading for a night club establishment in the city of discovery! Well done lads, you have all contributed this year to this fantastic achievement. Great effort - here is to more days like this!

Arrowdawn Gordonians Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
13w 2b 4lb 
for 10 wickets
136 (42.0 overs)
Debo Barman b  AJ Neave 4 22 15 26.67
Aman Arora ct  JW Morrison MD Farmer 47 107 93 1 50.54
Mitch O'Dwyer st  A Gilmour + b M Turnbull 27 56 48 1 1 56.25
M Bhandari lbw  MD Farmer 14 36 27 1 51.85
Swapnil Rane ct  M Turnbull b JW Morrison 14 41 25 1 56.00
M Doley ct  TH Duff b CJP Clark 4 28 22 18.18
S Rowell b  CJP Clark 0 1 2 0
H Lewis run out  (Stewart/Clark) 4 9 4 100
Rahul Narula ct  AJ Neave b CJP Clark 2 9 4 50.0
M Jones Not Out  1 5 2 50.0
Craig Petit lbw  CJP Clark 0 1 1 0

Meigle Cricket Club First XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Iain M Stewart1.00700.007.00
Alan Neave9.0030130.003.33
Charles Clark8.012245.502.75
Matthew Farmer8.031527.501.88
Jamie Morrison5.0213113.002.60
Michael Turnbull6.0024124.004.00
Peter J Drummond5.001400.002.80

Meigle Cricket Club First XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
1nb 6w 4b 1lb 
for 5 wickets
Denis Christie ct  & B Rahul Narula 2 4 4 50.0
Peter J Drummond Not Out  49 138 3
Michael Turnbull ct  Rahul Narula b H Lewis 18 51 41 4 43.90 1
Tom Duff ct  Bhandari b Swapnil Rane 21 46 45 3 46.67 1
Ralph JG Laing lbw  S Rowell 12 11 18 1 66.67
Alan Neave Run out  0 3 1
Matthew Farmer Not Out  22 23 4
Alasdair Gilmour   1
Charles Clark  
Jamie Morrison   1
Iain M Stewart   1

Arrowdawn Gordonians Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
R Narula6.0026126.004.33
C Petit6.031700.002.83
Aman Arora4.01600.001.50
H Lewis6.0123123.003.83
Swapnil Rane8.0130130.003.75
S Rowell4.0017117.004.25
M Jones2.01900.004.50
M O'Dwyer0.10300.0018.00

  • Umpire :
    Matt Crawford & Peter Redhead
  • Scorer :
    Ruth Neave
Photos and video of Arrowdawn Gordonians v Meigle Cricket Club First XI on Sat 16 Aug 2014 at 1.00

league winners.jpg

league champions 2014.jpg

The decisive day at Countesswells.